So it’s been 30 days since my last entry

Wow.

Sorry to have such bad manners! Since a couple of my dearest friends have called me on not blogging, I will do that now, and update everyone on what’s been going on.

Bao is great. He’s continuing to adjust well to his new life in the US and even likes school, once he gets there, that is. He wrinkles his nose and gives me a grimacing smile when we drive up to daycare, but never puts up a fuss about going. The boy doesn’t know how to throw a fit, it seems. Can I say, YAY TO THAT? A child who doesn’t throw fits. Wow. Ever. Maybe this is just the honeymoon stage and he’s saving up for when he speaks fluently. I don’t know, but I don’t think so. He just has this sweetness about him that I know is for real.

Little Boy G is doing well, too. Actually, he loves his brother, but he does, like little brothers do, pester him to no end. They play well together, however, and are getting along better each day. Warms my aging heart.

Bao can count to five, but has difficulty saying the letter “F.” Coming from a country where the main meal is pronounced with an “F” sound (Pho), I can’t help but wonder if he has some sort of speach impediment. If he holds his lip up, and puts his teeth on his lip, then he can say it. Otherwise, it comes out as “B” or “D.” Odd.

He can tell the difference between an A and a B, but only sometimes, so I think he’s guessing. Hopefully, that will get better with time.

Bao hasn’t gained an ounce since he’s been here. I was hoping he would. He still weighs only 36 pounds, which is what his 5 year old brother weighs (Bao is now six and a half.) He eats well enough, so I’d think the weight would go up, but so far, nada.

I’ve caught him doing nice things around the house, which is really nice. Sometimes, he’ll make his and LBG’s beds. Other times, I’ll find him picking up the toys in the living room. And then I’ll see him setting the table for dinner. All unsolicited, too, which is nice. He’s a wonderful kid. He really is.

Things he can say now (but with quite the accent):

  • I love you.
  • Thank you.
  • You’re welcome
  • The end.
  • Bless you.
  • I don’t know.
  • Pizza.
  • Hello.

So. He’s learning. Day by day.

He came to me a minute ago with a tissue and pointed to his loose tooth. I said, “Do you want me to yank it out?” He nodded enthusiastically. I said, cringe, okay. I got the tissue, held it over the tooth, and yanked. Nothing. I tried again, but nothing. I guess we’ll have to wait until “Aunt” Andrea, the local tooth yanker, comes over on Sunday, for….drum role please…

LITTLE BOY G’S FIFTH BIRTHDAY PARTY!!!

His birthday is actually Wednesday, but the party is Sunday. So after we eat cake, maybe Andrea can do some more yanking.

And that, my friends, is all I have for you. I will try to be a better blogger in the coming days. I couldn’t be much worse, now could I??? 😉

4 Comments

  1. Elaine said,

    March 16, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    I was just thinking about you today. Glad things are going well!

  2. B said,

    March 17, 2009 at 12:43 am

    Have you been reading blogs? My little guy gained 2 1/2 pounds in ONE MONTH once he arrived in Canada…more than 21 pounds now at 9 months my little porker doesn’t even know Vietnamese growth charts exist!

    Good think you updated…I notice in the traffic feed on the left that this is the second time I’ve checked in 4 hours…naptime-bedtime. Really should wash some floors and dishes while prince cranky pants sleeps-or not.

    Had a PB+J sandwich for dinner. Missing Brother’s Cafe desperately right now.

  3. kweenmama said,

    March 17, 2009 at 2:16 am

    Good to have you back! It’s perfectly understandable though, having two little guys is going to keep you busy. It sounds like things are going really well. Congrats!

  4. Andrea said,

    March 28, 2009 at 10:59 pm

    And yes, the offical “yanker” yank, not the first, but numero 2 tooth. LBG’s birthday party was fun, fun, fun, and much to Blake & Kara’s dismay, the bouncy castle was the most fun that they have had in long while. We love you all!


Leave a Reply

