Happy Valentine’s Day

Hope everyone is enjoying this very special Hallmark occasion… I took my family out for lunch to the boys’ favorite place, Macaroni Grill. It was lots of fun. I had just come from the dentist’s office where I had work done on both the tops and bottom teeth. Yes, my mouth was still numb, but novocain has a delightful botox effect–it relaxes the wrinkles surrounding your mouth so you look about five or ten years younger. I’m not about to complain about that, even if I do drool when drinking a glass of cabernet.

Bao continues to do well. You know, when we first met him, I recall that his skin was ghastly. Imagine how a fabric sofa would feel…a tweed one. That’s what his skin felt like. I’ve been applying cocoa butter twice a day on him and you know what? It’s working! His skin is nearly as soft as Little Boy G’s. I’m sure it was the first time lotion had been applied to his tiny little frame.

Hubby took Bao (and G) to get blood drawn while I was at the dentist’s. According to poopsie, it didn’t go well. Bao only has so much blood, evidently, because it just stopped flowing. They ended up trying different locales, holding him down and moving the needle around in his arm. You know the drill. Hubby says that Bao cried the whole time, sniff, crying “mommy! mommy!” Sniff, sniff, sniff. Glad I wasn’t there to witness it. 

I can’t stop thinking about Sue who is in Hanoi with her family and new boy, Hung, now. Loving him. Learning about him. Enjoying him. Soon, they’ll come home and it will all seem like a dream.

Once adoption has touched your life, you’re never the same for so many reasons. My little valentines gave me the cutest card today, and signed it XOXOXOXOXO. Melted my heart. I love them so very much. I have been blessed with their presence. —-er, Hold that thought. G just showed me that he bit the erasers off all the new pencils he got for Valentine’s Day. Grrr. Well, lucky for him I have a short memory. Now back to love…

dscf2129

2 Comments

  1. kweenmama said,

    February 18, 2009 at 3:20 am

    Lol. Bites off erasers, eh? I guess there could be worse things…

  2. Sarah said,

    February 22, 2009 at 7:29 pm

    I saw a dramatic turnaround in Simon’s skin once I started running the humidifier in his room 24/7. The boys are so cute. Hope you’re all doing well!


Leave a Reply

