We’re Baaack…

And my house is a mess. Two boys. What a mess. It’s like they pull out a toy/toys, play with it for 30 seconds, then pull out another and do the same thing, and then repeat ad nauseum. What tha? Toys are stretched from one end of this house to the other. Legos, puzzles, transformers, fire trucks. All of them. It looks like a toy grenade went off. Egads. What have I done? As soon as I put them all away, they’re replaced with new ones. Resistance is futile. I’m done for.

And dishes? Every dish I’ve ever had is used–we’ve done about two dish washing loads a day since we’ve been back. What’s up with that? Nobody told me about that. It’s crazy.

On the good side of things, Bao is doing extremely well. You’d think he’d been living with us for years, except for the no English speaking aspect. He talks on the phone to grandparents and friends. He’ll actually take the phone out of my hand as I’m talking and walk off with it, fully engaged in conversation with the person on the other end. He’s a trip. The boy rarely stops talking or smiling or laughing.

We took him to Cartoon Cuts yesterday and gave him a needed trim. He looks great and loved the experience. We also bought him some new shoes–since he had been wearing a size too small, so we found out.

Coming home from Vietnam to 18 degrees was interesting. Bao just laughed. He loved picking up snow in his hands and then placing his hand on my face to show me how cold it was.

He loves playing our piano. Odd, since he’s likely never seen one before. He loves playing with G’s guitars and harmonica too. Maybe he’s musically gifted or something.

What else…..oh yeah, he’s practicing some English words like, hello, bye bye, okay, and thank you. Not bad. I set him up on Rosetta Stone with the Vietnamese lessons so he could practice using a mouse. He loves it.

We still are experiencing the horrors of jet lag, but are slowly getting back to normal.

The flight back was a breeze. And shorter than going over too, SueCQ, which is a nice surprise. 3.5 hours from Hanoi to Seoul, and then 12 hours 45 from Seoul to Dulles. On the way over it was 14.45 to Seoul, and 5 hours to Hanoi. It’s a gift I warmly embraced. You’ll appreciate it, Sue, I’m sure.

G is slowly coming around. Starting to share more, but still not buying into Bao’s being around for evermore. Friends tell me that it will come soon. But they won’t tell me exactly when. Rather rude of them, I think.

So when we got home, I was thinking, man, it’s going to be so cold and unwelcoming when we come inside. But at least our cuddly kitties will be there. So we drive up and in the yard is a sign, saying “It’s a BOY!” and a welcome home banner on the porch. We walk inside the house and who is there but our dear friend, Karen (Moosie)! The fireplace is roaring, flowers are on the table and the fridge is packed full of delicious food. She’s also in the process of making a lasagna. Now I ask you, is she not sent from heaven above? The answer is, yes. And Andrea, the ice cream idea was a big hit with the two boys! G said, “Mama…can we have some kem?” (Kem is Vietnamese for ice cream. Too funny.) And so they both got a cone of their first Neapolitan ice cream ever. And they loved it. You girls are so great and we love you so much! Thank you thank you thank you. Thank you.

One of my relatives just informed me that he needs to take a nap, so I better go tuck him in. It’s good to be home. I missed you guys.

9 Comments

  1. Sheri said,

    January 24, 2009 at 5:35 pm

    Welcome home!! And yes, yes, yes, it DOES get easier – but the timetable is mutable: no two kids are alike (you already knew that, right?!). So happy for you all!! Give G lots of cuddles and be sure he has some “alone” time with you both each day. 🙂 When will you bring them to CCC??

    • Jeanne said,

      January 24, 2009 at 8:10 pm

      Thanks, Sheri! I hope it does get easier. Soon! G and I will always have alone time together and he’s getting lots of love. Little sweetie. I think we’ll stop by the CCC next week just to show Bao what it’s all about. Then, sometime during the first week of Feb, we’ll put them both back in…should be interesting!

  2. SueCQ said,

    January 25, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    Welcome home!!! So glad that the trip went smoothly and that you’re home safely, all in one piece, and relatively sane!!! 🙂 Thanks for the info regarding the flights home! I’m simultaneously thrilled at the prospect of finally going to VN and dreading the flights!! I guess we’ll just consider them one more hurdle to overcome before we can achieve our dream, hm? When you get a chance (in between doing dishes and cleaning up toys), shoot me an e-mail with ALL the things you learned that you wished you’d known before you left home (like the washer/dryer hints you already gave me).
    I agree with Sheri . . . give G lots of one-on-one time AND perhaps establish separate “safe” places for the boys to keep special toys that they don’t want to share. Giving G the opportunity to establish boundaries might give him a better sense of control over the situation. Just a thought from someone with absolutely NO adoption experience, but twenty years and 5 kids worth of child-rearing under my belt And it WILL get better . . . you won’t even know the “when” . . . you’ll just look around one day and realize that it happened without you realizing it. Hang in there!! ({HUGS}}

  3. Bev said,

    January 25, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    I’m home. I just wanted to drop in to tell you what a trip it was running in to you in VN! Seriously, how likely is that, twice, in a country that crowded? Got in last night and we both slept from 8pm to 8am with a short 1 hour play-time at 3 am. Feeling great! Wonder when the jetlag will hit?

    • Jeanne said,

      January 26, 2009 at 8:26 am

      Oh, Bev. It hits the very next day. We’re still suffering from it. Better luck to you!!! So glad you’re back!!! Can’t wait to follow your journey with baby!!!

  4. Elaine said,

    January 26, 2009 at 3:29 am

    Welcome home!!!! If you think the toys and the dishes are bad, just wait for the laundry. LOL!

    Yikes, Great! Thanks, Elaine!

  5. kweenmama said,

    January 27, 2009 at 7:13 pm

    Welcome home! So glad you had such a nice welcome. Some people just know what to do, don’t they?

    Thanks, Kweenmama! Yeah, they sure do…:-)

  6. Mindy said,

    January 27, 2009 at 7:42 pm

    More pictures please!

  7. Nico said,

    January 29, 2009 at 5:19 am

    I am glad to hear that my new cousin is now in Baltimore. It is great that G has someone to play with–no teenagers. I look forward to meeting Bao and to seeing G again. Maybe they could come and ski in Utah. They would love the snow. Can you send me some pictures? Does Bao look like G? Does he like Star Wars the clone wars? Aunt Jeanne can you tell G that Star Wars the clone wars in on TV on Fridays at 8:00pm in the cartoon network?
    Say hello to my Uncle….

    Thanks for commenting, Nico! We sure do miss you and can’t wait to come visit. I’ll be sure to tell G about Star Wars. Thanks for mentioning it. Give yourself and everyone a hug for me, okay? Love you!


Leave a Reply

