Our first full day together

Thanks to all for continuing to follow our journey! It’s been a wild ride so far. So many firsts for little Bao. He had a bubble bath with G last night and it was so funny to watch. His shock at being put into a huge tub filled with warm water and tons of bubbles was very endearing. I took lots of pictures and videos too, because the joyous giggling coming from that room was simply irresistable. Bao loved the bath and kept thrusting his head directly in the water and then laughing. too cute.

After the bath we went out to dinner at a place called Brother’s Cafe, which was recommended by our coordinator. It was very nice, and interestingly,outdoors–although when you walk in, it looks like a normal restaurant (except for the glowing, sparking cone of fire that you must walk by to get inside the dining area). The food was okay, but the presentation was really neat–it was mostly a buffet, but little ladies also sat just next to the buffet making pho and Hue pancakes.

As soon as we sit down, G, my little angel, drops his fork on the floor. Instantly, I hear a voice that says, “We happen to have an extra fork if you need it.” I turn around to accept and am and I stop in amazement. I recognize the woman who had offered the fork. She is a blogger in Canada named Bev who I’ve been following for a while now. I knew she was already in Hanoi and wondered if I’d see her but, wow! It was amazing. Anyway, I said, “Hey! I know you! You’re Wonder and Wait!” She laughed and said, “And who are you?” I said, “Im A Table 44!” She laughed again and we stood amazed looking at each other. She hadn’t seen a picture of me before this moment, so she had no idea who I was in person. She has the CUTEST little boy and the nicest people were with her. We chatted all night. Very memorable.

I also ran into another couple in our hotel–the Perrymans, whose adoption I’ve been following for awhile. It’s nice to finally meet these folks in person after all this time.

Okay, so Bao is really fitting into the family very well. He has taken on the big brother role very willingly and is always looking after G, or helping him with things that he has difficulty with (like opening the wet towel package on the airplane.) I love it. Really do. He’s so sweet. It’s hard to keep it in mind because he seems so ‘normal,’ but he really has no idea about how our world operates. The boy lived on a boat for his entire life before coming to the orphange in July of last year.  Opening doors, pressing elevator buttons,  going to the bathroom. These are all things that are new to him. But he’s learning quickly, so I’m not worried.

I’ll  post some pictures next. Stand by..dscf1745

5 Comments

  1. Andrea said,

    January 13, 2009 at 10:35 pm

    Every time I sit down at the computer, I log on to your blog, hoping there is a new post. My mom is also logging in to see what’s going on with you. I love all of the photos and it sounds like you’re all having a better day. I’m happy to know that G hasn’t been “flogged”. The photo of him watching the movie, perhaps some alone time – very manly, was hilarious! Kara was looking over my shoulder and giggled. The G&R photo is one you will also giggle at one day. You both look so serious, the most I’ve ever seen you!!!! G looks like he’s having a GRRRRReat time!

  2. Gail said,

    January 14, 2009 at 12:27 am

    Andrea’s correect, I am logging on to your site and my heart is filled with joy for you. Your heart must be smiling overtime. My thoughts are with you all.
    love gramma G

  3. SueCQ said,

    January 14, 2009 at 2:17 am

    I’ve been a little preoccupied today, so I’m just now catching up on your posts. I’m sorry G was so difficult yesterday, but happy that he sounds to be getting along better today. Bao sounds so cute, and happy! I bet he and G will be fast friends before you know it!! Can’t wait to hear more! Can’t wait to experience everything you’re experiencing!!

  4. Shannon said,

    January 14, 2009 at 4:11 am

    that is so funny that you ran into Bev, i was just reading her blog too! small world! glad yu are emjoying your new family of 4.

  5. Amber said,

    January 14, 2009 at 10:39 am

    Oh Jean, I’m so happy to hear that G’s temperment is better! The boys look so happy together. I think it’s wonderful that Bao is stepping right into the big brother role. My heart melted when you mentioned him helping G with opening the wet-nap! How adorable! I just love reading your updates everyday. Thank you so much for keeping us all involved throughout your adventure!!!


Leave a Reply

