The Countdown

Okay, we’re at our hotel in Hue. It’s just after 8 am. We’re leaving at 8:30 to go to the orphange.

Yesterday’s trip to the airport was memorable. I’ll tell you about it later.

So, here’s the thing. Bao doesn’t know that we’re coming. I’m not sure how I feel about that. Well, I don’t feel comfortable with it, but maybe that’s how they do it with the older kids. I just don’t know.

Our coordinator said that someone took Bao to see his grandparents one last time last week. Neither he nor they knew that it would be the last time.  That kind of makes me want to cry.

G has been pretty good. But last night I felt like he was the enemy using the well known torture tactic of sleep deprivation. By 4 AM I was ready to tell him everything and did. But he kept on going. Running. Singing. Jumping on me. It was in a word ghastly. Finally, he settled down. But he’s still acting odd–probably because he’s twelve hours off, he hasn’t eaten much, and he senses that we’re about to do something big.

So, the next post will be of all of us. A family of four. We meet Bao and the other orphans at 9:00 or so. Then we go to lunch, him with us.Then at about 2:00 we have the G&R ceremony and he’s ours. Tonight we’ll have dinner with our coordinators then take a music cruise on the Perfume River. Sounds delightful.

Gotta run…my new boy is waiting! Love and hugs to everyone!

3 Comments

  1. suecq said,

    January 12, 2009 at 2:09 am

    CAN’T WAIT!!

  2. Mindy said,

    January 12, 2009 at 3:21 am

    Hi! I’m enjoying reading your blog and will be praying for you all. I’m sure this is such a moving experience for all of you. Enjoy every minute of the adventure!

  3. Elaine said,

    January 12, 2009 at 3:49 am

    Oh, that is sad that they didn’t tell him or his grandparents and give them the opportunity to say goodbye. But still, can’t wait for the next post when you are a family of four!


Leave a Reply

