Adoption News

Things are getting better on the adoption front–we’re actually getting some time frames for travel. Here is what we expect:

22 December: I-600 approval

23 December: G&R ceremony scheduled

23: December: Arrange for travel and apply for Visas

1-6 December :  January (Thanks, B. Yeah, I’m sick.) Travel

So, it looks like the 6th Annual Christmas Party is on. And Christmas is on. And to start the new year? A sweet, sweet boy, named Bao. I’m so looking forward to this trip. And I’ve never been to Asia, so it will be doubly fun in that regard. My Vietnamese is coming along pretty well. I know as much as, say, a 18 month old might know. So I’ve got that going for me. 🙂 By the time we get to Vietnam, I’m hoping to know as much as a three year old. I think any amount of communicating we can do with Bao will be helpful.

Little Boy G has already given me a present for Christmas: his bum-kicking cough and cold. I’m miserable. I woke up at 6:00 just to get some Theraflu, and while I was drinking it, I checked my email. I received a wonderful note from Josh and Julie who are over in Hanoi right now, staring at their new baby, Ben. They’ve been posting pictures and videos….right, VIDEOS of our son, Bao, and I can’t tell you how cool it is to see him in motion and to hear his sweet voice. It’s pretty awesome. What would we do without the Internet and kind people like Josh and Julie?

Well, I’m going back to bed. Have a fabulous day everyone!

4 Comments

  1. B said,

    December 13, 2008 at 3:41 pm

    You meant January 1-6 for travel I’m sure. We have very similar tentative travel plans…perhaps we will meet on the other side!

    Wow. Wouldn’t that be funny? I know of a handful now that might be traveling about the same time….makes me want to smile!

  2. Elaine said,

    December 14, 2008 at 9:32 pm

    Yay!!!! I mean, aboutt the adoption stuff, not about the being sick part. Soooo close now. So very, very close.

  3. SueCQ said,

    December 14, 2008 at 10:09 pm

    I’m so happy for you and your family!! Regarding your comment on our blog about seeing us in Hanoi . . . oh how I wish that were true! But we’re still waiting for our final PPC approval, so I don’t think we’ll be there as early as the beginning of January. If we don’t hear something soon, I’m afraid we’ll have to wait until after Tet! 😦 I’ll look forward to following your journey, though! Congratulations!!!

    Boohoo! Well let me know if there is anything you’d like me to bring for Hungy!

  4. kweenmama said,

    December 16, 2008 at 1:54 am

    How exciting for you! And I hope you get over the bum-kicking cold soon so that you can enjoy the rest of the season.


Leave a Reply

