Another Reason to Love Target

I was shopping at my favorite store the other day and to my delighted surprise, I saw Tim Tams in the cookie section. If you’re not familiar, Tim Tams are a product of Australia and are even called Australia’s favorite cookie. 

A Tim Tam is composed of two layers of chocolate malted biscuit, separated by a light chocolate cream filling, and coated in a thin layer of textured chocolate.

According to its maker, Arnott’s, around 35 million packs are sold each year – nearly 400 million biscuits, an average of approximately 1.7 packs per Australian and 2.5 packs per New Caledonian. Tim Tams were first put onto the market in 1964. They were named by Ross Arnott, who attended the 1958 Kentucky Derby and decided that the name of the winning horse Tim Tam was perfect for a planned new line of biscuits.

Tim Tams are great with coffee and the Australians even have their own ritual when eating them. The Tim Tam Slam is the practice of drinking coffee by sucking it through a Tim Tam  with both of the ends bitten off.

The Tim Tams here are made by Pepperidge Farm and are sold exclusively at Target. They come in original, chocolate cream, and caramel. In a word? Delicious. Give them a try.

3 Comments

  1. Wine Blog said,

    December 6, 2008 at 1:45 pm

    Sounds good! I love target too, they are great for Christmas shopping and their selection on food and wine has improved a lot lately.

  2. Nessie said,

    December 6, 2008 at 8:48 pm

    I have a vague memory of these, which you might attribute to advanced age. But I would argue that since it was 1983 I’m not required to remember clearly. I didn’t remember anything about them until you described the coffee ritual. They sound great and I will look for them.

  3. Elaine said,

    December 8, 2008 at 12:07 am

    Well, now I’m even more sad that I no longer live near a Target. I wonder if I could do the Tim Tam Slam with hot chocolate instead of coffee??????? Then , of course, I wonder if I could do it and NOT give myself a migraine. Next time I’m near a Target I think I’ll pick up some Tim Tams and extra Tylenol and give it a try.


Leave a Reply

