That DNA, That DNA

Well, the bad news is that Bao did not get his DNA tested today. The good (great) news is that it was done on Wednesday! Evidently, the Embassy wanted to push up the test date for some reason. You read that right. They didn’t delay the testing, they moved it up a day. Am I in another dimension? The twilight zone maybe? This was totally unexpected. I mean, come on. We’ve read all the horror stories. Right?

Why they moved it up a day (since they’re not involved in the testing), I don’t know. I’m imagining, as you might guess, that they want to speed things up so that Bao is home before Christmas. But I have often been called delusional, if not down right nuts.

At any rate, our little guy took his very first train ride and went all the  way to Hanoi with, presumably his mom and someone from the orphanage.

They stayed two nights in a hotel in Hanoi and, from the looks of his face on the five pictures we received, he had the absolute time of his life. I’ve never seen the boy smile so much. It was amazing. He was actually laughing from what I could tell. 

He had on some PJs that I had a new parent from our agency take over with her just recently. There was a package of toys and clothes waiting for him in Hanoi. The package I wrapped was behind him in the picture, newly opened and surrounded by all the boy toys we got him (bulldozer, airplane, fast car, etc.) He looked totally delighted. Kind of like me right now.

As John McCain would say, the (Christmas) party is starting to look like a washout, my friends. We shall see. We wait for the results of the DNA test over the next week or two, and then we pack, and then we travel.

Sounds simple enough,  but I’ll hold off on buying those tickets just yet….

Behold, his happiness…

bao-at-post-office-2bao-at-hotel-1

3 Comments

  1. Christina said,

    November 21, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    Check him out! He looks very happy. I bet it was a really fun adventure for him. And how awesome that they pushed it up a day! Definitely don’t hear about that kind of thing very often! Congrats and may it be quick and smooth from here on out!

  2. SueCQ said,

    November 22, 2008 at 12:50 am

    That’s wonderful news!! He DOES look happy, doesn’t he? Congratulations!

  3. Elaine said,

    November 25, 2008 at 8:15 pm

    He does look so happy! I’m crossing my fingers and toes that you’ll have to cancel your annual Christmas party (not that I don’t want you to have a party, but, you know . . .)


Leave a Reply

