Tag, I’m It (The Book Meme)

Thanks to Nessie I have a post for today. She tagged me with the old book meme. Luckily, I have a book on my desk that I can actually talk about on line! The rules are :

  • Grab the nearest book.
  • Open it to page 56.
  • Find the fifth sentence.
  • Post the text of the sentence in your journal along with these instructions.
  • Don’t dig for your favorite book, the cool book, or the intellectual one: pick the CLOSEST.

Okay, the closest book to me is Chasing Shakespeare. My client gave it to me to read, and I haven’t yet–something she points out daily when she sees it on my desk  (But that’s okay, I gave her my very own, personally written novel, which she has yet to read. So there.)

Page 56, fifth sentence reads: “‘Oxford lives for eight years as a royal ward,'” she read to me in a very quiet voice.

From Amazon:

In Chasing Shakespearesby Sarah Smith, Joe Roper is a graduate student who has come from a modest background to become a Shakespeare scholar through a love of the bard’s work. While sifting through Shakespeare memorablia one day, most of it forgeries, he comes across a letter signed by Shakespeare stating that he didn’t write his famous plays. Joe does the obvious tests to prove it’s a fake, but it appears authentic. He shows it to Posy Gould, a PhD student at Harvard and daughter of a wealthy and priveleged family. She convinces him to fly off to London with her, at her daddy’s expense, to find out the truth about the letter. While Joe urgently wants to believe that Shakespeare, from common origins like himself, really wrote the plays, Posy believes that they were written by an Oxford aristocrat. It’s a mystery and an adventure to find out the truth, and where even making a claim it is true could cost Joe his standing in the academic community. Receiving praise from most reviewers, the Boston Globe calls Chasing Shakespeares “a smart, sexy modern-day mystery.”

I’m now supposed to ask 3 bloggers that I know of to do the same:

  1. Kweenmama
  2. Mrs. Broccoli Guy
  3. Looking for George

Jump in if you want to, and leave a link with your comment. Enjoy!

(I totally plagiarized from Nessie’s blog. Sorry, Nessie!)

3 Comments

  1. Nessie said,

    November 19, 2008 at 2:05 am

    No worries, I totally plagiarized from Sandwich’s blog, the person who tagged me.

  2. Christina said,

    November 21, 2008 at 1:15 am

    Oh yikes, the book meme and me without a single book lying around! Oh wait… no, that’s not true… just no *fun* books lying around. Okay, okay, I’ll obey the meme and post anyway… 🙂

    As I always say, Christina, you rock.

  3. November 21, 2008 at 2:05 pm

    […] 20, 2008 The Book Meme Posted by Christina under memes | Tags: Book Meme |   Thanks to Jeanne, I have something to post tonight! A very good thing because my brain is not exactly flowing with […]


Leave a Reply

