Adoption Update

I was going to directly reply to my blogger friend, SueCQ about our little guy’s update, but then just I received my first comment on this site from her, so I thought, hey, I can update her and all four of my other readers right here.

So…I’ll try to leave sarcasm out of this update. The operative word being, try.

Okay, awhile back we had to update our home study to reflect the fact that we are now trying to adopt a six year old, not an infant. Not a biggy, right? We got that done in absolutely no time at all. We then sent it to our adoption agency.

Once Ho Chi Minh City received our I-600 they sent us a note that everything would be on hold until they received our updated home study. (Huh? We sent it to our agency a while back…don’t they forward those kinds of things on? Evidently not.)

So, we FEDEX our updated home study ($50) to Ho Chi Minh City last Friday, and they received it this past Monday. YAY!!

No, not quite. They sent us an email on Tuesday indicating that we would need a NEW updated home study because this one just wouldn’t do. Why you ask? (oops, sarcasm) Because Bao is older than six. He turned six in June, ergo, to wit, he is older, you see, than six. Our home study said we could adopt a child anywhere from an infant to six years old. And Bao is older than six. He’s nearly six and a half, for goodness sake. What were we thinking? That we could parent a six and a half year old simply because we had been approved to parent a six year old? Egads.

And so. We asked our HS guy to make one tiny little change to the updated home study to reflect that we can adopt an 8 year old (Over reacting you say? Please, like he couldn’t be 8 by the time we get him? It honestly would not surprise me (or SueCQ, for that matter. Right SueCQ?)

But I digress. I just received the new home study, which we will FEDEX (another $50) to Ho Chi Minh City tomorrow. I’m sure, certain even, that nothing…nothing I say, will get in our way now.

Of course, I kid. Good thing I have a sense of humor. 🙂 Thanks for visiting, SueCQ!! And everyone else, too!

2 Comments

  1. kweenmama said,

    November 6, 2008 at 11:21 pm

    I like the new blog! And as far as your post goes…I never knew so much could go into an adoption. Sheesh! To have to take care of such a little detail as the child being OVER six??!? Wow. You are amazing in your patience.

    Ohhh, Kweenmama, you give me far too much credit. Truly you do…:-D

  2. elaine said,

    November 7, 2008 at 2:35 am

    I would have gone for 8 also!

    Yeah, you know what I’m talking about. I actually considered 10!


Leave a Reply

