The Time has Come

I’m a little anxious these days (I know, I know–and how is that different than most days, you ask?) Well, I’ll tell you. We put together some pictures of ourselves, and our house, and other things for our little boy in Vietnam. And frankly, I’m surprised that you would even ask that question–I’ve been worrying a lot less these days. Hmph.

Anyway, we mailed it, along with a fancy little race car, a thin Thomas Tank Engine alphabet book, some stickers, and a letter from us to our adoption agency.

They’ll be sending it to Bao in the next few days. I’m presuming he will receive it sometime next week. When he receives this package, they will tell him about our interest in adopting him.

I hope he is happy with the news, but I know that if I were in his place, I would be very scared. He’s six years old. SIX YEARS OLD. Eventually, I know, he’ll be happy (we’re a really fun family, honest!), but the thought of us causing him any more fear bothers me.

Do you know what I mean?

Sigh.ย And so, the time has come to tell him that he has a forever family. I’m very excited that he is about to learn of us, so don’t get me wrong. There are just two sides to every story. I pray that he receives the news with an open and happy heart.

So, what did you guys do last night? ๐Ÿ˜‰

That is all I have for today.

3 Comments

  1. SueCQ said,

    October 3, 2008 at 9:05 pm

    Jeanne,
    I know EXACTLY what you mean! Go back and re-read my blog entry from July 11. I was very anxious, just like you are, but look again at the happiness on our little guy’s face and know that it’ll all be okay! And then, if your agency will allow you, continue writing him every few weeks to let him know that you still love him and are thinking about him.

  2. FoodyMom said,

    October 3, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    Sue–you’re right. Thank you! And it’s my hope that he will be okay with the adoption. I doubt we’ll get pictures like you did, but just to hear that he smiled will do my heart good. ๐Ÿ™‚ I did ask our agency if we could send him a letter every two weeks and they said yes. ! I’m pretty sure I got that idea from your blog. So, again, thank you. You and your site have been a godsend to me. I refer to it a lot. I also read another post a lot on Doubling Up–the Green Door one, when I need a good “happy cry.”

  3. Elaine said,

    October 6, 2008 at 12:05 pm

    I do know what you mean, and I never adopted an older child. Even with my babies I had the same worries. Well, okay, not that I was worried they would worry about an impeding adoption, since they were too young to understand, but you know what I mean, right?

    Elaine, I do know what you mean. Especially after reading some of the adult adoptee blogs. I hope my littlest guy doesn’t suffer later…


Leave a Reply

