Window Shopping

We’re getting new windows tomorrow. Well, and probably Tuesday and Wednesday as well, since that’s how long it will take to replace the old ones. We’ve never really been able to open our windows in the past. I think they’ve been painted shut (lead paint, at that) for over thirty years, so we’re looking forward to that. We’ve been waiting to do this for quite some time. Earlier in the year, Hubby said, “Dear, we’ll be able to pay for both the adoption (the big final payment) and the windows (hugely expensive), but we won’t be able to pay for them at the same time. So as long as these two events don’t occur simultaneously, we should be okay.” Famous last words.

Well, guess what? The referral came at the end of August, and the windows are coming tomorrow. Not exactly simultaneous, but c’mon. So what does this mean? Fewer Target trips for one. And that’s bad news for me. The good news is I’m cleaning out my freezer of stuff that I bought ages ago, but either forgot about or just never got around to eating. That’s kind of fun and it makes my freezer look so much bigger when it’s not jammed full of food. Maybe I should do this once or twice a year. A culinary catharsis of sorts.

I just made LBG pizza for lunch. He demanded pizza. I told him I didn’t think we had any, but when I looked in the freezer (it’s easier to find stuff now), there was a bag of frozen pizzas that I purchased from the Spring fund drive at school. They’re the kind you hand make yourself. The last time I made one for him? He hated it. And I couldn’t blame him. It tasted like warmed up bread with sauce and cheese on top. Yuck. So this time, I rubbed olive oil all over it, top and bottom, before putting it in the oven. The result? A perfectly crispy pizza. And the best part? He loved it.

3 Comments

  1. Elaine said,

    September 14, 2008 at 9:47 pm

    When we moved into our new house, the neighbors (who sold it to us) asked why we had the windows open. My husband told them I like fresh air. They were confused because they never opened the windows. Because, you know, with geothermal heating and cooling, why do you need to open the windows? I guess some people don’t like fresh air?

  2. Bev said,

    September 14, 2008 at 10:24 pm

    Hi foodymom,
    I got your message about a password and couldn’t for the life of me remember where you were…email me for a password (now that I’ve found you again) and you can follow along on my journey to sweet Benjaminh.

    lazy2thebones at yahoo dot ca

  3. kweenmama said,

    September 16, 2008 at 3:24 am

    I love to open the windows at our house. I have six open right now as I type.

    Glad you could doctor up the pizza so that it tasted good. 🙂


Leave a Reply

