The Home Stretch…

I love baseball. I love going to Camden Yards and watching the Orioles lose game after game play their hearts out. I always get a hot dog. My husband always gets Dipping Dots, Ice Cream of the Future. We haven’t been at all this year for some reason. We’re busy working around the house doing all the things that need to be done to a 100 year old home, I suppose.

And me personally? I’ve been on pins and needles all summer. I’ve been dreading this since January when we suspected that we would wait all summer to find out if our soon to be child from Vietnam was coming home or not. And wait we have. All. Summer. Long. It’s been difficult. Some days I’m convinced that we’ll get that sought after referral. Other days, I’m convinced that we won’t. For us, if we don’t get it, this will be the end. I turn 47 in October and feel that if this doesn’t work out, then I will just accept it, move on, and love my little precious guy who once wanted a brother so badly.

It’s the home stretch, this week. Do or die as they say in whatever business they say that in. A few more days is all we have before we know what God has in store for us and this child. A few more days.

And then September 1st comes and brings with it the end of the journey for so many hopeful families and orphans. The US will no longer allow adoptions from Vietnam as of that date, at least until Vietnam can get its problems under control. That could be a long time. Years maybe. In a way, I’m proud of the US for insisting that baby trafficking concerns are addressed and eliminated while other countries do not. No slight to them, of course. But, then I feel like, man, can’t we just look extra carefully at the referrals that are coming in while still allowing the adoptions to continue? Does it really have to be all or nothing? These are children we’re talking about. Forget the parents who are waiting back here. Think of those kids. Babies. Toddlers. Even the blessed older children, who we would gladly welcome into our home. Think about them. Explain it to them. Because I can’t.

And so. The homestretch. For us, we might get really really lucky. I can tell you now, that for many other families and far too many children this is not going to happen. I hope God is watching and guiding us and those children when September mourning arrives.

On a lighter note, Little Boy G is sitting next to me with the two Wii controllers at his ears saying, “Hello? Mommy?”

I gotta go now and chase him around the house. Have a good week.

2 Comments

  1. kweenmama said,

    August 25, 2008 at 3:31 am

    I’ll bet this summer has seemed extra long to you. Good luck. I hope you get some good news before September 1 gets here.

  2. Colleen said,

    August 26, 2008 at 3:27 pm

    I will keep my fingers crossed that you will get your referral this week. I have another blogging friend who just received her referral from Vietnam last week, so it can happen! Good luck!


Leave a Reply

