Foodie Movies

Does anyone out there love foodie movies like I do? If so, what is your favorite flick in that genre? There are so many to choose from and I’m always looking for more, so your own thoughts would be most welcome.

My all time favorite movie (ever) is Babette’s Feast. I own it and hubby and I watch it once a year. It’s that good.

Chocolat is another fun one to watch, as is Tampopo, about Japanese soup making. The Japanese guy with the cowboy hat and boots cracks me up. Love that movie. And again, thank goodness for Netflix because you won’t find that one at Blockbuster.

Mostly Martha, a German foodie film which you can see the American rendition of (No Reservations) now, was also very good. I have not seen the remake yet–No Reservations–has anyone out there seen it? What did you think?

 Not that it’s really a foodie film, but Harold and Kumar go to White Castle is very funny.

Like Water for Chocolate, and  Eat, Drink, Man, Woman, are up there too. Very good flicks.

So?? What is/are your favorite(s)??

3 Comments

  1. kweenmama said,

    August 6, 2008 at 1:25 am

    I haven’t seen ANY of those. I guess I’d better get busy seeing some movies!

  2. froggylove said,

    August 6, 2008 at 5:17 am

    The only one I have seen is Harold and Kumar. You know what movie we LOVE that is so inappropriate? Clerks 2. Its kinda foodie. I wouldnt watch it with the kids, but soooo funny and gross, and everything that we love. Its a Kevin Smith movie. To know him is to love him. (He is Silent Bob)

  3. Colleen said,

    August 26, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    I think I’ve seen most of those movies. I loved Chocolat, except I spent a month afterward craving (and indulging in) really good chocolate.

    I haven’t seen the original, but I thought No Reservations was a cute movie. I enjoyed it.


Leave a Reply

