Home Study Updates…

Does anyone know anything about them? For instance, ours expires in mid-September. Do we have to do the homestudy over again? The whole thing? Or just certain aspects of it? Anyone out there know?

(My home study agency just keeps repeating to me that I need a current home study until a child is placed in our home. Not enough information for me. I need specifics. )

From what I can find on line, most states just require FBI background check, child abuse check, and fingerprints for an update. Naturally, nowhere does it say what Maryland requires. If anyone has something to say about this, please speak up now! I need you!

Gracias…

4 Comments

  1. July 25, 2008 at 6:56 pm

    Yes, you will need to do a Home Study update. Contact the agency that did your homestudy and schedule an update prior to the expiration date of your current one. The update is not nearly as involved as the original, but does require some work and will take some time, so it’s a great idea to start the process before your current one expires. Good luck!

  2. Nessie said,

    July 25, 2008 at 7:15 pm

    That is right! (I’m the queen of home study renewals) You should be able to do it in little more than a month. This post: http://raremonsters.wordpress.com/2008/05/19/one-last-home-study-knock-on-wood/
    lists everything we had to do to renew ours last month. The key is to do the things that require processing time first, like police reports and FBI fingerprinting.

  3. FoodyMom said,

    July 25, 2008 at 11:26 pm

    Thanks, guys. Okay. Trying not to panic.Trying very hard!

  4. Lina said,

    July 27, 2008 at 2:48 pm

    As part of the update, I had to have my doctor fill out a new medical form. I had to have one set of prints done again too, but that was for the Adam Walsh law that was not into effect when I got my homestudy done the first time. The update was really easy – way easier than the original one.

    Lina


Leave a Reply

