No news is No News…

So I finally spoke to someone at our adoption agency today about the little six year old boy in Vietnam who needs a home. We’ve been waiting nearly four weeks since we first heard to find out more about him. So what’s the hold up? “Things move slowly in Vietnam,” she said.

“They do know about the shutdown on 1 September, right? ”

“Yes.”

So, we wait. She thinks maybe the end of this week or sometime next week. But really, she doesn’t know. She’s about as unsure if this is going to happen as I am, but she had to say something. 

So 22 didn’t come through for me today, but that’s okay. At least I didn’t hear, “Oh, you were interested in that boy? Another couple has already committed to adopting him. Sorry!” This was not at all in the realm of impossibilities, mind you. Not at all. 

So we wait. Personally, I like the miracles that happen quickly. I do not require a foreshadowing of events that may or may not pan out. “Gee, you’re either going to be incredibly happy or incredibly unhappy. Let’s just wait and see, shall we? Don’t you just love suspense?”

Sometimes, yes. Right now? NO. 

Things I hope for right now: 

1. We get news soon.

2. My husband signs on quickly to the adoption (it’s okay, he almost never reads this blog.)

3. If the paperwork is too late, that the little six year old, whoever he is, finds a loving home.

4. The MOU between Vietnam and the United States is renewed before 1 September. 

This is a nice picture I found on the Internet, but it is not of the boy in question. Cute little guy, isn’t he?

4 Comments

  1. Jill said,

    July 23, 2008 at 12:13 am

    Hope you hear something soon!!

  2. kweenmama said,

    July 23, 2008 at 1:43 pm

    Again, good luck with it all! We had a foreign exchange student from Vietnam stay with us for the 2006-2007 school year. He was a delight!

  3. FoodyMom said,

    July 24, 2008 at 12:23 pm

    Thanks you two! I think everything is going to work out just fine. 23 is my new favorite number 🙂

  4. froggylove said,

    July 27, 2008 at 2:53 pm

    Oh I hope things work out for you. It sucks having to wait, especially knowing that there is a deadline. I’m biting my nails for you. Keep us updated.


Leave a Reply

