Three Weeks Later…

Three weeks ago, our Agency told us of a little boy of six years old in Vietnam who needed a home. I told them we were interested and to get us any and all details that they could. Three weeks later, nothing. I wrote them a few days ago for an update. No response. I was so hopeful when I heard he needed a home, and now I’m left to wonder if it was all a dream.

I think Little Boy G knows that he may or may not get a brother and he’s told me that he’s okay with that. Bless his little four year old heart. While I’m sad that circumstances lead this little boy to need a home, I’m happy that we would be able to give him one. Now I wonder that if we don’t adopt him, will someone else? So few people want older children. Older children will still be adopted in Vietnam by other countries, I’m sure. But will this little guy? It’s very hard to tell, but my guess is the odds aren’t good. That too weighs heavy on my mind. In a matter of days we will have no more chances. 1 September looms for us and for him.

I’ve put all my faith in God in this adoption, as I did the last one. What will be will be. I know that much by now. I just wish the wondering, the waiting, and the worrying would let up some. Maybe we’ll hear next week–on Tuesday the 22nd. 22 is our lucky number. My husband and I met, got engaged, and were married on the 22nd day of various months. Unplanned, of course. There has been other luck associated with the number 22 in my life, so maybe that’s the day it will happen. We’ll see the referral and say “yes.”

My mother told me that during World War II in Germany, many women turned to fortune tellers to tell them if their husbands were still alive. Tarot cards, palm reading. They tried them all. My German grandfather was captured by the Russians and held as a prisoner of war for seven years. For the first two years, my grandmother had no idea where he was or if he was alive or dead. Talk about wondering and waiting. She finally did hear, and he came home five years later, two or three years after the war had ended. Maybe he came home on the 22nd.

2 Comments

  1. seansmommy said,

    July 19, 2008 at 12:46 am

    Oh, this whole thing just makes me so sad. The whole situation is nothing but sad. I will be praying for you and for this little boy. He needs a family. God Bless.

  2. kweenmama said,

    July 19, 2008 at 4:24 pm

    I really hope the 22 luck streak continues for you! It would be wonderful if this adoption could happen for your family.


Leave a Reply

