A Remedy Worse than the Disease

I’m sad to say that the avoidance of all things good (coffee, tea, chocolate, liquor, wine, beer, and tomatoes) has actually helped to a great extent my post nasal drip issue. I’ve coughed less in the past couple of days since going Cold Turkey, and I think it has to do with both the diet restrictions and the reflux medication that I’m taking.

Will I stick to it? I honestly don’t know. Am I sure to cheat? Uh huh. I will. I’ve tried to imagine my life without all the things I just listed and it’s not that I can’t, I just don’t want to. There has to be a better way. A different remedey that doesn’t involve my giving up so much of what I love to eat and drink. And, on that note, I’m in search of a cure. Not a remedy. A cure.

In the end, I suppose it’s not all that bad. I know too well that it could be worse. I’m an insulin dependent diabetic for instance and I seem to survive that on a daily basis. I have terrible wrist pain that surgery has not alleviated neither has pain killers AND I type on a computer all day for a living. I’ve lived through that. But this is different. Those of you who love any of the things I’ve listed above know what I’m talking about. I can give up candy. But a glass of Cabernet? Not as easy. An ice cold vodka martini? A hot, bold cup of coffee? Not without a fight.  You know what I mean. And the world agrees…

  • Way too much coffee.  But if it weren’t for the coffee, I’d have no identifiable personality whatsoever.  (David Letterman
  • Good wine is a good familiar creature if it be well used.  (William Shakespeare (1564-1616)
    Othello, II. iii. (
    315)
  • Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy. (Benjamin Franklin)
  • Chemically speaking, chocolate really is the world’s perfect food. (Michael Levine, nutrition researcher)
  • A world without tomatoes is like a string quartet without violins. (Laurie Colwin, Home Cooking)
  • There is no trouble so great or grave that cannot be much diminished by a nice cup of tea.  (Bernard-Paul Heroux)
Leave a Reply

