Cold Turkey

I’ve had trouble with post nasal drip for a few years now. I cough and cough and cough. Night and day. I actually had (horrible horrible) surgery to correct it a couple of years ago, to no avail. I’ve tried nasal sprays and antihistamines. Nothing seems to work. I cough routinely and always clear my throat. I’ve decided that I have silent GERD (reflux). I’ve taken meds before for that, but have recently focused on taking sinus meds instead. Clearly, a change needs to take place, since that is just not working.

For the next two weeks I’m going to have to avoid so many of the best things in life, including:

  • coffee
  • tea
  • chocolate
  • wine
  • liquor
  • tomatoes

If it works, and I hope it does, I suppose it will be worth it. But sheesh. Why must I have to choose between my sanity  and the wonderful things I’ve just listed? Maybe I won’t have to. Maybe I can splurge now and again and just take Prilosec and Pepsid as part of my routine. Maybe that will work. I’d love to be rid of this cough, but at what expense? I mean, coffee is part of my life. And frankly, so is wine and liquor. Red wine is the worst for reflux, but it also happens to be my favorite. And chocolate? And tomatoes? Come on. Fine. I’ll give it a try. I’ll go cold turkey and see what happens. Maybe I won’t miss my coffee in the morning as much as I think I will. Maybe I won’t miss my evening wine. And maybe I’ll lose a pound or two. Always look for that silver lining 🙂

6 Comments

  1. Nessie said,

    July 14, 2008 at 8:16 pm

    I have had a similar problem. When I had/have sinus problems that include post-nasal drip the little flap at the top of my stomach has to keep opening to admit the constant drip. Two way street, the acid comes up too. Here are some things that have helped me. Hope they can help you too.

    Of all the meds, the only thing that worked was nasal sprays like Nasonex and Flonase. These need prescriptions . I have used them for about 4 years to avoid surgery. It take a few weeks, but then I felt like a new person. In the mean time, avoid the foods you mention, but more important for me was not to eat for about 4 hours before bed. So, you might not have to give up AM coffee, just the PM stuff. And take one of those strong OTC acid reducers like Zantac 150. When things are really bad I elevate the head of my bed. Small blocks of wood under the legs, or with my new bed I shove a big pillow between the mattress and box spring. Gravity keeps stuff where it should be, but takes me awhile to adjust to it.

    Honestly, though, once the nasal sprays took effect, all my acid problems were gone. Now, I only have problems when I get a head cold. But, I know what to do and it’s not so bad.

    Best of luck!

  2. FoodyMom said,

    July 15, 2008 at 12:48 pm

    Thanks, Nessie! I actually use Astelin nasal spray several times a day when I get a coughing fit. I just hate to overuse it, you know? No coffee this morning. Ugh.

  3. Nessie said,

    July 15, 2008 at 1:38 pm

    Yeah, I understand. I’ve found that I can get by using about an 1/8th of my recommended dose. (1 squirt every other day, instead of two squirts twice a day). I do have to increase it to every day when I have allergy flare up in the spring. Still, I have found that even at the worst of times I can always get by on far less than my Dr. says I need. Makes you wonder who is setting dosage amounts for drugs. Dr.s or the people who make profit from the drugs?

  4. kweenmama said,

    July 15, 2008 at 11:25 pm

    Oh man I feel for you. Our garden is just starting to produce, I would hate to have to give up a good tomato snack (sliced off the vine with just a hint of salt–yum). And chocolate? Who can live without that? 🙂

    Good luck!

  5. Nessie said,

    July 15, 2008 at 11:29 pm

    Hey! Did you know that tomatoes from your garden are far less acidic than ones from the store? Store bought tomatoes are picked so much sooner (less ripe) than you would form your garden that they are significantly more acidic.

    I wish we could grow our own chocolate too.

  6. FoodyMom said,

    July 16, 2008 at 6:13 pm

    Yes, tomatoes in summer (with goat cheese, basal, and red wine) is practically routine for me. Although I was reading somewhere that milk or cream will neutralize the acidity. Maybe if I drink a glass of milk before hand? Hey, it’s worth a try. Might as well try it with chocolate too. I would be remiss to ignore its antioxidant properties…


Leave a Reply

