Meat and Fish* and Tater (Tot) Pie

tater totsThis recipe is an interesting use of Tater Tots I found in a book called, This is Delicious–What is it?, by Robert Meyers-Lussier. His recipe was more involved and time consuming than I like, so I modified it to a great extent to appeal to both my son and to me.

When I was first making it, it was in the oven and Little Boy G said, “I don’t want it!” I told him that if he didn’t like it,  I would make him something else (since it was, after all, an experiement). He protested, but I insisted that he at least try it before he hated it. He reluctantly agreed.

Kid Approved. When I placed it in front of him, he inspected it thoroughly, and finally tested it by taking one small bite. (I, of course, pretended not to notice). Wonder of wonders, he nodded his head in approval, saying, “It’s good, mama!” I gave myself a high five when he wasn’t looking…and then, the coup de grace: He uttered the rarely heard phrase, “May I have some more, please?”

Good as a left over.I gave this dish to my son the next day, for lunch. He wasn’t at all happy about it and cried all the whole way to school. Go figure. I hoped against hope that he would ultimately like it. When I asked him if he did, he said, yes, and that he “ate it all gone.” So, there you have it. Another small victory for mama.

But…it is better the first time around, so you should give it a try. While it might not work as a left over for your little ones, you never know. And that suspense is what makes parenting so fun and worthwhile, huh??

  • 1 lb ground hamburger
  • 1 can Cheese Soup
  • Spices of your choice (I use oregano, salt, pepper, minced onion, garlic salt)
  • Frozen Tater Tots (I prefer the Crowns, because they’re smaller, and therefore crunchier)
  • *Gold Fish crackers

Pre-Heat oven to 425F

Brown meat until thoroughly cooked.
Drain the fat.
Add the can of cheese soup. Mix thoroughly.

Add the spices. Taste. Add more if necessary.

Get your glass container and line the bottom with one layer of Tater
Tots.

Cover the Tots with the beef mixture.

Add another layer of Tots on top of the mixture. Bake in oven for about
20-30 minutes until the Tots are nice and browned.

Serve with Gold Fish crackers (this addition was my son’s idea, as was the name of the dish). You can also add a veggie if you like–my son doesn’t like his veggies and main courses mixed yet, so I leave those, for now, on the side. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

